Monday, April 24, 2006

more Plagiarism in the news

Author Dan Brown has been making waves in the news, allegedly for signs of plagiarism in his book Da Vinci Code. Here's another similar news story about a young writer who's recently been caught up in the plagiarism trap. Kaavya Viswanathan got a $500,000 2-book deal and she's still an undergrad at Harvard. The passage quoted in the article from Viswanathan's book Opal Mehta... unfortunately does bear close resemblance to a passage in Megan McCafferty's Sloppy Firsts. I wonder how the allegations will be resolved.

Sunday, April 23, 2006

What's special about the number 6174?

Have you heard of the 'Kaprekar Constant' - 6174? Basically, is you take 4 numbers and create two 4-digit numbers - one with them in ascending order and the other in descending order, and if you perform the Kaprekar Routine (subtract the smaller from the larger) then, within 8 iterations, you will end up with 6174. Try this out... It's amazing!

Monday, April 10, 2006

2006 Pritzker Award to Brazilian Architect Paulo Mendes da Rocha

Paulo Mendes da Rocha of Brazil Wins the Pritzker Architecture Prize

"Paulo Mendes da Rocha of Brazil, known for his provocative ways with concrete and steel, has won the 2006 Pritzker Architecture Prize, considered the profession's highest honor. Mr. Mendes da Rocha, 77, is best known for his Brazilian Sculpture Museum in São Paulo, where he is considered the unofficial dean of the city's Brutalist movement."

Read more at The New York Times

Friday, April 07, 2006

The Ramon Magsaysay Award

This award is named after "Ramon Magsaysay [who] was the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after World War II. His life had great impact not only in his country but on many people in many lands. He was one of the outstanding leaders of his time."

Here's some brief history about it - "In April 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award was established by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF) based in New York City. With the concurrence of the Philippine government, the prize was created to commemorate late president of the Philippines and to perpetuate his example of integrity in government, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society."

"The RMAF recognizes and honors individuals and organizations in Asia regardless of race, creed, sex, or nationality, who have achieved distinction in their respective fields and have helped others generously without anticipating public recognition. The awards are given in five categories: government service; public service; community leadership; journalism, literature, and creative communication arts; peace and international understanding."

Here are some highlights of Indian awardees. Did you know that M.S. Subbulakshmi was awarded the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award in 1974 for her extraordinary voice and cultural contribution to India. Baba Amte was awarded the Magsaysay in 1985 for his work with 'social outcasts' in rural Maharashtra, guided by his "philosophy that 'charity destroys, work builds'." And Dara N. Khurody was recognised in 1963 for his efforts in helping start and evolve the Aarey Milk Colony back in 1949. Amazing work, isn't it?

Other famous Indians who have received this honor are Kiran Bedi, Vinoba Bhave, Mother Teresa, Satyajit Roy, Arun Shourie, Ravi Shankar and many more... check out the list for more awardees.

Tuesday, April 04, 2006

Special Time & Date - tomorrow -

On Wednesday April 5th,
at two minutes and three seconds after 1:00 in the morning,
the time and date will be 01:02:03 04/05/06.